Research that qualifies for the Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research must be of internationally recognised outstanding quality and potentially groundbreaking.



Each of the rectors of the fourteen universities that are affiliated with the VSNU may nominate one research project in each of the scientific domains designated in that year.




An advisory committee has been appointed for each relevant scientific discipline, which will assess the nominations on the basis of the criteria set out in the regulations. Each advisory committee will propose one research project for its specific discipline to the board of Ammodo. After approval of the recommendations, the board of Ammodo will grant the Award.

Advisory Committees 2020



The award ceremony for the first edition of the Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research will take place in the Spring of 2020. The date will be announced in due course.


Subject Areas


    Biochemistry, Biomedical and Medical Sciences


    History, Philosophy, Theology, Language and Literature Studies

  • Natural Sciences

    Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Mathematics, Earth Sciences and Technical Sciences

  • Social Sciences

    Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences and Law