Candidates who qualify for the Ammodo Science Award are internationally recognised scientists with an appointment at a Dutch university or a Dutch research institute. They were awarded their PhD in or after 2004, and they clearly have the potential to explore new avenues in fundamental scientific research.


Researchers can be nominated for the Ammodo Science Award by:

  • executive boards of all Dutch universities
  • faculty deans of all Dutch universities
  • directors of Dutch research institutes
  • at least three members of the KNAW and/or the Young KNAW acting together
  • the board of the National Network of Female Professors

The deadline for the next nomination round is 15 September 2018.

To the nomination form


An advisory committee has been appointed for each scientific field. The committees will evaluate the nominations on the basis of the criteria set out in the Regulations for the Ammodo Science Award. Each advisory committee will put forward a maximum of two candidates for their field for consideration by the board of the KNAW. After giving its considered approval, the board of the KNAW will then provide the board of Ammodo with the list of proposed laureates for its definitive approval.

Membership of the advisory committees in 2019

Award Ceremony

The award ceremony for the third round of Ammodo Science Awards shall take place spring 2019. The date will be announced shortly.

The Laureates

Subject Areas

Biomedical Sciences

Biochemistry, Biomedical and Medical Sciences


History, Philosophy, Theology, Language and Literature Studies

Natural Sciences

Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Mathematics, Earth Sciences and Technical Sciences

Social Sciences

Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences and Law