Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

When will the Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research be presented?

The first Award will be presented in the Spring of 2020 for research in the categories Natural Sciences and Social Sciences.

How often is the Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research presented?

This Award is presented biennially for research in two of the four scientific disciplines (Biomedical Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences).

Which scientific domains are eligible for the Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research?

In 2020, the Award will be presented for work in the fields of Social Sciences and Natural Sciences.

When will it be the turn of the other scientific disciplines?

In 2022, the Award will be presented for research in relation to Biomedical Sciences and Humanities.

When will the winners be announced?

The winning research projects will be announced at the end of January 2020.

Who can nominate research for the Award?

Each of the rectors of the fourteen Universities affiliated to the Association of Universities in the Netherlands (VSNU) can submit one nomination for each of the relevant disciplines.

What is the decision-making procedure?

The rectors of the fourteen universities affiliated to the VSNU may nominate one research group in each of the two scientific domains designated for that year. These nominations are submitted to the board of Ammodo. The nominations are then assessed by independent advisory committees. There is one advisory committee for each scientific domain, and each committee has five members. These advisory committees put forward a single research project to the board of Ammodo which they judge to be the worthy winner of the Award.

What is the deadline for submitting nominations?

Nominations must be submitted before 11 October 2019. The presentation of the first Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research will then take place in the Spring of 2020.

Why is this Award presented to a group?

This Award is intended to provide recognition to all researchers involved in the project. Members of research teams often remain in the shadows because existing prizes tend to focus on individuals, whereas groundbreaking research is usually achieved through collaboration and the result is the product of team work.

What kind of research qualifies for an Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research?

Research that is recognised internationally as being of high quality and (potentially) groundbreaking, and which is carried out at one of the fourteen universities affiliated to the VSNU and/or at research institutes of the NWO or the KNAW. The winning research will have generated new questions that are potentially groundbreaking and for which no other funding is available.

What are the criteria for allocation?

The selection criteria for the Award are:

– The research has already led to leading results that can be seen, for example, in publications (journals and/or books or chapters of books), or contributions to scientific conferences or other quality indicators recognised in the field in question.

– The research is leading internationally within its field.

– The research distinguishes itself from other comparable research in terms of quality, originality, results and/or publications and future expectations (continuation of the research).

– The research is original and groundbreaking and has generated new (potentially) groundbreaking research questions.

– There is a need for funding for the newly generated research questions.

– The research can be carried out internationally provided a Dutch academic institution is involved.

– The research can be multi-disciplinary or inter-disciplinary and at least partly carried out by one or more Dutch knowledge institutes.

– The research may be interdisciplinary (cross-domain), but is nominated by the nominator for one scientific domain as chosen by him/her.

Where can I find the regulations?

Click here for the Award regulations.

Where can I find the nomination form?

The nomination form will be sent to you on request. Please send an email to

By whom should the research be carried out?

The research should be primarily carried out by several researchers who are institutionally and organisationally embedded in one of the fourteen universities affiliated to the VSNU and/or at research institutes of the NWO or the KNAW.

To whom will the prize money for the Award be paid out?

The funds granted as the prize for the Award are paid out to one institution only, even if more than one institution is involved in the research. The institution, which receives the money on behalf of the research team, must provide Ammodo with a transparent (annual) account of the use of the funds demonstrating that they have been used efficiently, effectively and properly, i.e. for the designated purpose.

What should the Award be spent on?

There must be a need for funding for the research. The Award can be spent on materials, personnel, exchanges with foreign countries, travel and accommodation costs, as long as it concerns costs that are directly related to the research for which the Award has been granted. The Award may not be used to finance overheads or other costs of the research institute not directly related to the research funded by the Award.

Who can I contact if I have any questions?

If you have any questions about the nomination and selection process, please contact Oda Barten via