Candidates who qualify for the Ammodo Science Award are internationally recognised scientists with an appointment at a Dutch university or a Dutch research institute. They were awarded their PhD in or after 2006, and they clearly have the potential to explore new avenues in fundamental scientific research.



Researchers can be nominated for the Ammodo Science Award by:

  • executive boards of all Dutch universities
  • faculty deans of all Dutch universities
  • directors of Dutch research institutes
  • at least three members of the KNAW and/or the Young KNAW acting together
  • the board of the National Network of Female Professors

To the nomination form



An advisory committee has been appointed for each scientific field. The committees will evaluate the nominations on the basis of the criteria set out in the Regulations for the Ammodo Science Award. Each advisory committee will put forward a maximum of two candidates for their field for consideration by the board of the KNAW. After giving its considered approval, the board of the KNAW will then provide the board of Ammodo with the list of proposed laureates for its definitive approval.

Advisory committees 2019


Award Ceremony

The award ceremony for the fifth round of Ammodo Science Award shall take place in 2023.

The Laureates


Subject Areas

  • Biomedical Sciences

    Biochemistry, Biomedical and Medical Sciences

  • Humanities

    History, Philosophy, Theology, Language and Literature Studies

  • Natural Sciences

    Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Mathematics, Earth Sciences and Technical Sciences

  • Social Sciences

    Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences and Law